

Press Release

Subject: ISA Framework Agreement receives 15 ratifications.

The International Solar Alliance was jointly launched by the Honourable Prime Minister of India and former President of France on 30th November, 2015 at Paris, in the presence of the then Secretary General of the United Nations, on first day of COP21 UN Climate Change Conference. ISA is working for deployment of over 1000 GW of solar energy and mobilising more than US \$ 1000 billion into solar energy by the year 2030. The activities of ISA shall include to undertake joint efforts required to reduce the cost of finance and the cost of technology, mobilize more than US \$ 1000 billion of investments needed by 2030 for massive deployment of solar energy and pave the way for future technologies adapted to the needs of 121 countries lying fully or partially between the Tropics. As on 6th November,2017 44 countries have signed the Framework Agreement of the ISA, and out of which 15 have submitted the formal Instrument of ratification to the depository i.e. Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India. ISA is the first international intergovernmental treaty based organization headquartered in India.

Further as per Article XIII (1) of the ISA Framework Agreement, this Framework Agreement shall enter in to force after thirtieth day after the date of deposit of the fifteenth instrument of ratification, acceptance or approval. The Foreign Minister of the **Republic of Guinea** on 6th November, 2017 submitted its formal instrument of ratification of the ISA Framework Agreement to the Minister of External Affairs, Government of India. Therefore, with fifteen ratifications, the ISA Framework Agreement shall enter into force on the thirtieth day after the date of deposit of the relevant instrument which is 6th December, 2017.

With ISA Framework Agreement coming into force, ISA shall attain legal personality as a treaty based inter-governmental international organisation. As on 6th November, 2017 the following 15 Countries have signed and ratified the ISA Framework Agreement and deposited formal instruments of ratification with the depository:

1. Peoples Republic of Bangladesh	9. Republic of Nauru
2. Union of Comoros	10. Republic of Niger
3. Republic of Fiji	11. Republic of Mali
4. France	12. Republic of Seychelles
5. Republic of Ghana	13. Federal Republic of Somalia
6. Republic of Guinea	14. Republic of South Sudan
7. Republic of India	15. Tuvalu
8. Republic of Mauritius	
